Home » Academic Standards

Academic Standards

Honor Roll

BJAMS recognizes students in grades 3-8 who have achieved at a high level, by publishing an Honor Roll for each marking term. Students must achieve an average of 90 or better in all subjects to be considered for High Honors. Students achieving an average of 80 to 89 in all subject areas will be considered for Honors. Additionally, they must earn an “Outstanding” or “Satisfactory” in all other areas, including Art, PE, Music, French and areas indicating conduct and behavior. More than 80% of our students achieve Honor Roll quarterly.


At BJAMS, homework has many purposes:

  • to foster habits of independent work and study
  • to reinforce learning that has taken place at school
  • to prepare for new concepts
  • to help students be ready for increasing workloads in secondary and postsecondary education.

The amount of homework given nightly depends upon the grade level, the subject, as well as the individual student. Good study habits are important and develop early. In addition to regular homework, students may also from time to time be asked to work on long-term assignments or projects. Teachers will make a concerted effort to coordinate major tests and projects, especially in the upper school.

The following time frame is the guideline that teachers use when assigning homework for grades 3-8:

  • Grade 3: 20-30 minutes nightly
  • Grade 4: 45 minutes nightly
  • Grade 5/6: 60-90 minutes nightly
  • Grade 7/8: 1½-2 hours nightly (although special projects are more frequent in these grades)


bjams testing

Evaluation of students includes testing on a regular basis, as a means of evaluating student success. BJAMS students can expect to take teacher-designed tests; tests that accompany curriculum series; and standardized tests. BJAMS students may participate in some Diocesan, Vermont state, and federal testing at some grade levels, when appropriate. The SAT 10 (Stanford Achievement Test Series 10) is a national standardized test we use. It is taken over a one-week period and usually administered in April. First published in 1926, the test is now in its tenth incarnation, or “Series.” Although in many states it is being replaced by state-created tests (mandated by the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001), it is not equivalent to most of these tests, in that the Stanford series is more comprehensive in scope than the newer assessments. The test is available in 13 levels that roughly correspond to the year in school.

Each level of the test is broken into subtests or strands covering various subjects such as reading comprehension, mathematics problem-solving, language, spelling, listening comprehension, science, and social science. BJAMS has used this test series since the inception of the school. This test allows us to compare our students to their peers across the nation.

Students in grades 6-8 take midterm and final exams. They count as 20 percent of their semester grade. Eighth-graders may be exempt from final exams if their class is designated “an exemption class” and if they have an average of 90 or above for that subject for the year at the end of the fourth quarter.